14. Relative to first party property damage claims, policyholders
shall have the right to request and receive from the insurance
company any estimates, bids, plans, measurements,
drawings, engineer reports, contractor reports, statements or
documents that are not legally privileged, that the insurance
company prepared, had prepared, or used during its
adjustment of the policyholder’s claim. A company may keep
confidential adjuster notes, logs and any documents prepared
in conjunction with a fraud investigation.

15. File a complaint against any insurance company, producer or
adjuster with the Department of Insurance, and have that
complaint investigated by the Department.

16. Receive a readable and complete property insurance policy,
and request a duplicate or replacement policy as needed.

17. The remedies provided for in Louisiana laws (R.S.22:1892) if
an insurer violates that Section in the handling of the claim.

How to Contact the Office of Consumer Advocacy

Call 225-219-0619 or 1-800-259-5300 and ask for
the Office of Consumer Advocacy.
Visit our website: www.ldi.la.gov
Email your questions: consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

Other Divisions in the Louisiana Department of Insurance

Property & Casualty ..........cccooviiiiiiiiiee e 225-342-1258
(i.e. Auto, Homeowners, Workers’ Compensation)

Life & ANNUILY. ....eoeeie e 225-342-1226
Health. . ..o 225-219-4770
Senior Health Insurance Information Program..................... 225-342-5301
Fraud. .. ..o e 225-342-4956

This public document is published at a total cost of $616. 5,000 copies of
this public document were published in this second printing at a cost of
$592. The total cost of all printings of this document including reprints is
$653.08. This document was published by Franklin Press, 1391 Highland
Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 to inform consumers about the Office of
Consumer Advocacy under authority of the Division of Administration. This
material was printed in accordance with standards for printing by State
Agencies established in R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in
accordance with the provisions of Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.
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What is the
Office of Consumer Advocacy?

The Office of Consumer Advocacy was created by the Louisiana
Legislature in 2007 with the primary purpose of educating
consumers on insurance. Its main functions are assisting
consumers with insurance questions and educating individuals

on the Policyholder Bill of Rights. The Consumer Advocacy

staff actively engages with the community through speaking
engagements and provides informational brochures to consumers,
civic associations, governmental organizations and other
interested parties.

In conjunction with other divisions within the Department of
Insurance such as the Property & Casualty and Health divisions,
the Office of Consumer Advocacy receives and responds to all
consumer questions regarding insurance. The office also reports
violations of rules, regulations or laws to the appropriate official,
division or office of the department, which may take further action
as deemed appropriate.

Consumer Advocacy staff frequently attend and coordinate events
to accomplish these goals while explaining the resources available
through the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Policyholder Bill of Rights

Policyholders Shall Have the Right to...

1. Competitive pricing practices and marketing methods that
enable them to determine the best value among comparable
coverage in accordance with the law.

2. Insurance advertising that is not false and other selling
approaches that provide accurate and balanced information on
the benefits and limitations of a policy in accordance with the
law.

3. An insurance company that is financially stable.

4. Be treated fairly and be free from unfair or deceptive acts or
practices in accordance with the law.

5. Receive service from competent, honest insurance agents who
will answer their questions promptly.

6. Receive the appropriate disclosure form as an insert in the
front of the insurance policy that complies with the law.

7. Balanced and positive regulation by the Department of
Insurance.

8. Check the license status of an insurance company, producer or
adjuster.

9. Receive written notice of cancellation or nonrenewal at least
30 days prior to the effective date of the cancellation or
nonrenewal, unless the cancellation or nonrenewal is for
nonpayment of premium; and shall have the right to protection
from improper cancellation or nonrenewal in accordance
with the law.

10. Receive the reason for any cancellation or nonrenewal of
coverage in writing.

11. Cancel their policy and receive a refund of any unearned
premium. If a policy was funded by a premium finance
company, the unearned premium will be returned to the
premium finance company to pay toward the policyholder’s
financing loan.

12. A written notification detailing any change in policy provisions
at renewal.

13. Receive payment of the amount of any property damage
claim, or a portion of the claim due, or a written offer to settle
any property damage claim within 30 days after receipt of
satisfactory proof of loss in accordance with the law. If a claim
is denied, policyholders shall have the right to receive a written
explanation as to the reason for denial, in whole or in part,
of any claim made under their policy of insurance.



